The Raised Platform

When I visited London several years ago I came across a spot in Hyde Park called the Speakers Corner. It’s basically a box for people to stand on and say whatever they want. This week I remembered the Speakers Corner when reading an article about social media kicking people off their platforms.

I thought, hey, why don’t I create my own free speech platform? I can build it using wood, with dimensions roughly three feet square and about eight inches high. I can place the platform in front of City Hall and it can be a place where people can stand upon it and say whatever they want. They can sing a song, or read a poem, or do a funny little dance, or perform mime, or, of course, speak. It’s not an original idea, granted. But seeing as how the platform can be moved, it would hard for the likes of Zuckerberg and Dorsey to shut it down.

If anyone would like to co-opt this idea and use it in your town, feel free. Yes, free!

By the way, the title of this post is a riff on a song title from the band Cornershop, who recorded a song titled “Staging the Plaguing of the Raised Platform.” Fun little song with a good guitar riff.

Leave a comment