Change

After many years doing HR work I am shifting my career focus to writing as my primary vocation. I’ve read many articles about this type of change and it takes awhile to make a complete transition. Most say three to five years.

I suspect that complete “transition” will mean different things for different people, depending on where they are in life and their expectations relative to income and whether they want the transition to entail full time work. For me, it means I am going freelance to control the amount of time I spend writing. At this point in my life, barring something unforeseen, I am not interested in working full time.

I guess the “unforeseen” may entail changes to my financial situation, but so far as things stand now, I’m not expecting that sort of thing to derail my plans.

Step one on my path to freelance writing is to re-start this blog, which I’ve neglected terribly for some time now due to other commitments. People ask me how I intend to monetize a blog, but from my perspective that’s not really the point. The primary purpose initially is to build a platform where people can read my work in order to figure out if they want me to do some freelance work for them.

So, you can expect regular posts going forward. I’ve connected this blog to some social media so you won’t have to go searching for it if you’re already connected to me via Facebook, Linkedin, or Twitter. If we haven’t connected yet, but you’ve somehow stumbled across this blog and want to receive regular posts, the easiest way is to follow me on Twitter @Mikekrich.

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Change

  1. You are brave to do this. As you make progress I suggest you try to attend a writers conference (those can be expensive) and connect with other writers, especially some who write the same sort of thing you do. I There used to be a critique group called Alameda Writers, but they may not exist anymore or deal with a similar genre to yours. Online groups can help, too. Writing is a solitary business, but writers are communicators so when we get together we understand each other as nobody else does. Very few people make a living only by writing, but you may also get to speak at conferences, etc. and bring in some money that way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

