The Cold

IMG_2436

I hadn’t been sick in about five years, which I attribute to a reasonable attempt on my part to stay healthy, but also to good genes. About three weeks ago a co-worker in my work unit developed a bad cold, the most prominent feature of which is chronic coughing. Within a few days two other co-workers came down with what appeared to be the same thing. My work unit had turned into a disease vector.

As the daily absence count mounted and work piled up I became concerned, but knew that my co-workers would come in if they were up to it. One of them ended up in the hospital on oxygen and at that point I knew this was no garden variety cold.

Right about that time I became symptomatic. It started with a headache and a feeling of exhaustion. I went home early, climbed into bed and didn’t emerge until the next morning. That pre-emptive move turned out to be impactful. I was able to go to work the next day, courtesy of DayQuil. After a couple of days my symptoms began to subside, but now it’s a week later and I still have a bit of a cough.

All of this is to explain the absence of posts recently. It’s been work, home, dinner, bed by 9 p.m., so I haven’t had time to write anything. The good news is that I’ve been saving up a bunch of ideas for posts, so the floodgates are about to open.

Thanks to NyQuil and DayQuil for getting me through the past week. I’m almost done with the withdrawal.

One thought on “The Cold

Leave a Reply

