Smoking Cessation: Day One

IMG_2370

I just dumped the last ten cigarettes from this pack into the trash. A relative suggested that I post a picture of that instead of this, but I like clean, elegant images on the good ole blog. I think this better represents my approach to quitting than showing a bunch of cigarettes in a mess of trash. Quitting is supposed to be absence of cigarettes, right? So why start by showing them? Instead, I choose to display this empty pack, posing open like a maw you don’t want to get sucked into.

So far, the downside to quitting has not shown itself, except for a weird jittery feeling of not knowing what to do in a given second. When that feeling comes on I take a couple of deep breaths and refocus my mind on doing something to fill time.

The upside is that I didn’t have to stand outside in the cold this morning to smoke. Also, my clothes don’t smell like smoke. Best of all, those around me have been extra nice this morning.

That’s it for now. I think I’ll go skiing this afternoon. Further updates this evening.

Happy New Year everyone!

One thought on “Smoking Cessation: Day One

  1. Many thanks for quitting! As an asthmatic, second hand smoke is a problem for me. And congratulations for your courage. I’ve heard nicotine is harder to quit than most drugs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

