Dwindling

IMG_2353

I was walking back home after some Christmas shopping when I saw this protester standing on the corner all by himself. It was kind of sad, though I guess it’s a sign that the vandalism and looting that went along with the large protests has run it’s course. As I walked by and snapped this photo, it occurred to me that the lone protester is emblematic of the seeming futility of trying to effect broad social change.

When I got home I turned on the news and there was a story about two New York City police officers who were ambushed while sitting in their police cruiser. Someone shot both of them in the head and they died. The suspected shooter was later found dead nearby, apparently from a self-inflicted gunshot wound. It’s too early to know anything about the suspect’s motive, but of course there is already speculation that the incident is in some way tied to the protests over police shootings.

I wonder if the citizens of New York City will now march in support of the police. That would be a good thing.

One thought on “Dwindling

Leave a Reply

