The Conference

I’m at the annual conference for the type of work I do. I look forward to it every year, and every year I experience the same thing. I anticipate the conference as an opportunity to blow off steam and take a break from the everyday, and within hours of being here, I miss my family.

Right now I’m sitting in a hotel room, alone. I purchased a movie; 22 Jump Street. It’s funny. A buddy movie, for sure, with a lot of gay irony stuff going on, but not offensive; all in good fun.

Tomorrow I’ll blog about the conference, which hasn’t actually started.

I had dinner tonight with co-workers. It’s amazing how you can work with people and miss important details about their lives. For example, the two people I dined with had no idea I play guitar and write songs.

They’re good people that I work with. Smart, good at what they do. I’m lucky to have them as co-workers. It was nice having dinner with them tonight, but I am acutely aware of the absence of the person I love the most, which is my daughter. She’s staying with Grandma, because my wife died three years ago. I miss her, too. I miss her terribly. Sorry to get so personal, but that’s what happens when you’re alone in a hotel room.

On a happier note, I’m going to play some of my songs for my co-workers, now that they know about it. I’m sure they’ll like the songs, because they’re damn good. Maybe someday I’ll share them on the good ole blog.

One thought on “The Conference

  1. I love to attend writers conferences. Maybe you should try one someday. I’m in the same marital situation (four years in January) but don’t have a kid at home.

    Like

Leave a Reply

