The Ballot Measures

Well, I’ve read all of the State-wide ballot measures, along with the arguments for and against. If you plan on voting, I encourage all to do the same.

I am going to share my thoughts about them, not with the intention of trying to sway people one way or the other, but simply to engage in a civics conversation.

I’m going to vote yes on ballot measures 1 and 2. My reasoning has less to do with the ballot measures themselves and more to do with the process by which they got on the ballot.

Measures 1 and 2 were placed on the ballot by the State legislature. Both measures were voted on by the legislature, with broad bi-partisan support. Both measures are also supported by the Governor. In a time when governance is defined by gridlock, it seems to me that measures that are voted on by the legislature, receive broad bi-partisan support, and are also supported by the Governor, deserve the support of the electorate as well. In that scenario, it’s nice that the electorate is being included in the decision.

All the other ballot measures are on the ballot through petition. As I said in my previous post, I think that is a flawed process that locks out the very people who have been elected to legislate, so I’m voting no on the rest.

Don’t forget to vote.

Leave a Reply

